Store Review: A World of Heroes (Dacula, GA)

I have added “A WORLD OF HEROES – Comics & Games” in Dacula, GA to the Shopping Guide.

Finally had a chance to visit this store for the first time in June 2010 even though I’ve known about it since moving northeast of Atlanta in 2007. (Tried staying faithful to keep my orders at another comics shop I’d been doing business with since 2003. But after moving further outside of Atlanta, the driving distance led me to look for another option.)

A World of Heroes specializes in comics (current popular titles, TPBs, back issues) and gaming (primarily the card and strategy type), but they also have other collectibles and merch available if you’re into superheroes and/or science fiction. (Not much in the way of Transformers or Anime except by way of manga, TPBs and back issues, but no big there since it’s not the store’s focus).

An adjacent room in the store has tables set up for gaming, and the store hosts both regular and spontaneous weekly gaming events. They don’t have a website, but they do have a Facebook page where they post info for upcoming store events.

One of the store’s co-owners, Fred Clayton, was very nice and helpful for me, and I learned that he’s also involved with fan panels for Dragon*Con’s SciFi Tracks.

At the time I visited, the store was doing 50% off select TPBs which motivated me to purchase volume 2 of “Twisted Toyfare Theatre,” and I picked up a back issue of IDW’s Transformers comic series as well. And I shall be visiting A World of Heroes regularly in the future as I’ve decided to do my future Previews orders with them.

Leave a Reply

